Teach Me How To Pray

This about sums it up for right now.

I have been kinda a Grinch with this Holiday Season this year b/c it should be such a wonderful time to enjoy the cold weather, the scarves, gloves, rosy baby noses, and even giving the spare in your pocket to the Salvation Army bell ringers. I am desperately awaiting the snow this year, and loving the overcast mornings when they do come.

But truth be told this year, i just see so many grumpy and crusty people. More then i ever have before in my life. Its so sad, people are in a frenzy finding and burdening them selves with gifts and decorations, that they aren’t even enjoying it. Which is sad. And it makes me sad. Wether you ‘celebrate’ in the Christmas festivities or not (i dont think either is wrong, but we do) we’re all thinking about Jesus. And thats just it thats why ive been a Grinch. I want people to really be thinking of Christ, if its the one time of the year some really do think about Him becoming a baby then so be it. think about it, dont be a grump all season and buying gifts and zooming around the parking lots like its the end of the world, and then on the 25th be thankful. It just doesn’t make sense.

Maybe the Lord is really showing me the broken’ness of the human race without Him in it. Without Him as the rightful center.  And it makes me sad. My heart yearns, YEARNS, for His preeminence in our lives. On earth, as the righteous coming King. We need Him, He wants us. The church needs to be re-saved into holiness and understanding. my heart aches for the people that dont know, that have no clue.

I heard a message at a moms meeting awhile ago and it has stuck with me since. What she said was something on the lines of (how I took it):

Being a mother is one if not the most powerful connections to the Lord. The reality of living everyday being willing to lay down your life for your kids is something unexplainable. It truly is the ultimate sacrifice, for His will and not your own.

But when you really love Him, it is your will. I pray everyday for Bodie and the day, when ever it may be, he will choose Christ as his own savior. I can not make him, he has to choose, he may do that when he’s 4, or as his last dying breath. But all i can do is raise him in my knowledge and understanding and teach him. If it takes me praying over him all night every night I will. its not even a question, its all that matters. Ever. I think about this kind of love, and its so deeply put into me it hurts, and its kinda scary. But it has been given to me, in a very real way. And i think about the people who dont know Christ, and it makes me hurt. That fire comes out, the same fire i have for Bodie, and this next little one. They are someone elses kids, lost, hurting, just wandering around life. If someone wont pull them out of the fire then who will? Who will do it willingly, with out cost?

Right now this song is where my heart is. I wasn’t  meaning to write anything more then posting the song, but maybe i need to write..? Maybe i just needed to turn that Grinch spirit into willingness.

I just really love Jesus, and I want His will to be my own. And i want Him to have his heart, and the Preeminence on earth in the hearts of man.

Teach Me How To Pray

By jason Upton

Mommy, I hear the baby crying
Help me, are the words
she?s implying
Where?ve I been while my world has been dying
Lord, teach me how to pray

Not my will or my plans or
the way I want it
I?m so tired of my hands in the way
So reveal to these eyes the true heart of my Father, today
Lord teach me how to pray

Daddy, I can hear Jesus crying
Help me, are the words
He?s implying
Am I sleeping while my Savior
is dying
Lord, teach me how to pray

Not my will or my plans or
the way I want it
I?m so tired of my hands in the way
So reveal to these eyes the true heart of my Father, today
Lord teach me how to pray

So I?ll keep asking, for Your kingdom to come
Looking, for Your will to be done
For every nation, tribe,
and every tongue
Lord, teach me how to pray
Not my will or my plans or
the way I want it
I?m so tired of my hands in the way
So reveal to these eyes the true heart of my Father, today
Lord teach me how to pray

One thought on “Teach Me How To Pray

  1. Oh Ash, I just love that desire you have for all people to come to know the Lord. Yes, Xmas is such a beautiful time of the year to stop and remember HIS love for all of us. I have always used my finite love for my family in comparing our Heavenly Fathers love and know HE is so much more!!! WHoa THANK YOU JESUS!! Love Grandma

Leave a Reply

